Love God. Love others. Share hope.

5 Marks: Fruit of the Spirit: Love, Joy, Peace

Yogi Durbin
July 16, 2017

5 Marks: Fruit of the Spirit: Love, Joy, Peace

We continue our series, 5 Marks of a Healthy Disciple, with the third mark: A disciple of Jesus demonstrates the fruit of the Spirit. The fruit, or evidence, of the Holy Spirit are found in Galatians 5:22-23. There, Paul lists nine character qualities: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. In this sermon, Pastor Yogi looked at the first three: love, joy, and peace.

There are five important facts to know about the fruit of the Spirit. First, the word “fruit” is singular, meaning that these qualities are not to be pursued or desired separately. Second, fruit and gifts of the Spirit are not the same thing. Third, the fruit of the Spirit is evidence of the Spirit’s filling and a sanctified life. Fourth, bearing fruit is not a suggestion – it’s a command. Fifth, the fruit of the Holy Spirit is the real deal – you can’t fake it!

Love is the overriding virtue of all the other qualities. The kind of love that the Bible calls a “spiritual fruit” is agape, which is both unconditional and supernatural. Agape love is the quality that says, “I will love you no matter what.” Joy and peace are often referred to as the twin sisters because it is hard to differentiate between the two. Joy is more than a feeling; it is a deep-seeded quality of contentment and gratitude, no matter the circumstances. Peace is a balanced soul, borrowed from the Hebrew word shalom.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *