Love God. Love others. Share hope.

The Upside-Down Kingdom: Judge Not

Andy Holt
June 12, 2016

The Upside-Down Kingdom: Judge Not

Our journey through The Sermon on the Mount has brought us to Matthew 7 and one of the most frequently quoted verses of all time: “Judge not, lest ye be judged.” But what do we mean when we quote this verse? More often than not, it seems, we’re saying, “You don’t have the right to tell me that what I’m doing is wrong.” But could this really be what Jesus meant?

Judgment is a broad concept. As Pastor Andy laid out for us on Sunday, it is a journey that grows in intensity. There are five stages of judgment:

1. Discernment
2. Correction
3. Discipline
4. Judgment
5. Condemnation

When Jesus says, “Judge not,” he does not meant that we should not use discernment, or correct or discipline others as appropriate. We are supposed to engage in the first three phases of the journey of judgment. But discipline is as far as we are allowed to go. Both judgment (meaning final judgment) and condemnation belong only to God. Do not take the place of God, or God will put you in your place.

You can also check out Andy’s silly word art pictures below.

Nagging Word Art

Judge Not Word Art

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *